Tuesday, March 3, 2009


Maybe this is controversial. Who cares. How can I say this? Hair doesn't make you pretty. If you aren't pretty without the hair, you just aren't pretty. You may not look your best but you'll still be pretty. Pretty is pretty and it doesnt matter what it wears, the length of its hair, its accessories etc. Hair is an accessory. Let's take Kanye's new "boo" (we'll see how long the overnight celebrity lasts), Amber Rose.
Ignore, for a minute, the cancer stick hanging from her hand or those GAWJUS shoes on her feet. Look at her face. She may not be your style but to most that's a pretty face. She has a bleached blonde buzz cut too. Pretty with hair and pretty without. Now, she arguably more STUNNING without the hair but debatable. The face doesn't change just because the hair does. Now to those who think I'm a bald jealous chick. I've had a pixie cut and I've had decent length hair. No, its never naturally been down to my butt but its easy to buy that these days. A couple ounces of Remy and I'm good. I am just tired of chicks swinging it like its what makes them. Its not. Pretty is pretty but beauty goes a step further. What's in your head. Like... what's your mental looking like. Can you carry on a conversation? Do you do beautiful acts for others? I'll save the BEAUTY talk for another conversation. However, pretty is pretty and its not your HAIR that makes you such.

Labels: , ,


Ann E. Nigma at 6:21 AM | 0 comments
I know you wanna be charitable but send your 'caring' elsewhere.
I'm 27, unwed, and childless. Somehow, although woman have evolved and become stronger and more independent being 27, unwed and childless became a bad thing.
Just two days ago my (great) aunt cornered a man who was deemed "a marriageable type" and got his information for her niece (me) who lives 1100 miles away. I am sorry but I am not desperate (although, the city where I live may lead you to believe otherwise). All is not lost but I recently made the decision that I'd rather travel than date. I'll live vicariously through my friends' future children and be a kick ass auntie.
I'm tired of everywhere I go I am looked at as though I am a charity case. I get sympathetic looks from customers who feel they are better than me because I am on my hands and knees selling shoe. How many young ladies have some in saying haughtily "I need these shoes because I'mmmm going to Laawww/Meeedd school". Sometimes I say nothing and smile to myself. Sometimes I explain that I understand and reccommend a good interview pump (and its NOT a cheap, chunky heeled penny loafer). Sometimes I give them a little inkling of my educational life... leaving out all the offers I have been extended for employment in this struggling economy and sometimes, just sometimes I tell them about my sister Ab. You see, Ab was accepted in a top tiered medical school. So when these little snots brag about going, merely, to interview at the Argentina School of Osteopathic Medicine I say "Oh wow! That's cool. One of my great friends just got into *insert top tiered school name here*!". Mischeif Managed, their faces never fail to fall.
Oh yeah, and while I am speaking about work, let me reiterate. I work on commission. I made 10% of what I sell to you. Keep that in mind when you buy your med school loafers+ your cole haan walking shoe+ your weitzman dress shoe. I just made 10% of that in just one customer. This isn't careerbuilder.com, so I am not going to run down my resume but just know this: You're not better than me. Don't pity me. I don't need your charity. You can't beat me. LOL

Labels: , ,


Ann E. Nigma at 6:05 AM | 0 comments