I'm 27, unwed, and childless. Somehow, although woman have evolved and become stronger and more independent being 27, unwed and childless became a bad thing.
Just two days ago my (great) aunt cornered a man who was deemed "a marriageable type" and got his information for her niece (me) who lives 1100 miles away. I am sorry but I am not desperate (although, the city where I live may lead you to believe otherwise). All is not lost but I recently made the decision that I'd rather travel than date. I'll live vicariously through my friends' future children and be a kick ass auntie.
I'm tired of everywhere I go I am looked at as though I am a charity case. I get sympathetic looks from customers who feel they are better than me because I am on my hands and knees selling shoe. How many young ladies have some in saying haughtily "I need these shoes because I'mmmm going to Laawww/Meeedd school". Sometimes I say nothing and smile to myself. Sometimes I explain that I understand and reccommend a good interview pump (and its NOT a cheap, chunky heeled penny loafer). Sometimes I give them a little inkling of my educational life... leaving out all the offers I have been extended for employment in this struggling economy and sometimes, just sometimes I tell them about my sister Ab. You see, Ab was accepted in a top tiered medical school. So when these little snots brag about going, merely, to interview at the Argentina School of Osteopathic Medicine I say "Oh wow! That's cool. One of my great friends just got into *insert top tiered school name here*!". Mischeif Managed, their faces never fail to fall.
Oh yeah, and while I am speaking about work, let me reiterate. I work on commission. I made 10% of what I sell to you. Keep that in mind when you buy your med school loafers+ your cole haan walking shoe+ your weitzman dress shoe. I just made 10% of that in just one customer. This isn't careerbuilder.com, so I am not going to run down my resume but just know this: You're not better than me. Don't pity me. I don't need your charity. You can't beat me. LOL
Labels: quarter-life dating, retail, work
PSA 6: You Can't Beat Me. (LOL)
Ann E. Nigma at 6:05 AM